Ann Maine (District 21)

Ann Maine

Lake County Board Member

Mail: 18 North County Street, 10th Floor, Waukegan, IL 60085
Office phone: 847-857-1732
Board member Maine represents Riverwoods, Lincolnshire, Bannockburn, Mettawa, Green Oaks, and portions of Deerfield, Lake Forest, Waukegan, Gurnee, and Grayslake. She has been on the board since 2002. Member Maine is a long-time member of the Stormwater Management Commission and the Lake County Board of Health. Her main priorities are fiscal responsibility, sustainability, preserving a clean, safe water supply, and balancing growth while protecting our natural resources.
  1. Lake County News: December 2018

    12/21/2018 11:23 AM

  2. Lake County News: October 2018

    10/19/2018 01:30 PM

  3. Lake County News: September 2018

    09/28/2018 10:30 AM

  4. Lake County News: August 2018

    08/23/2018 03:12 PM

Elected Offices

  • Lake County Board (2002 - present)
  • Lake County Forest Preserves (2002 - present) 
  • Village of Lincolnshire, Trustee (1997-2002)

Special Appointments & Other Public Service

  • Lake County Minority Affairs (2011-present)
  • Lake County Water Supply Advisory Committee, Policy, Co-Chair (2009-present)
  • SWALCO Recycling Task Force
  • Stormwater Management Commission (2002-present)
  • Central Lake County Joint Action Water Agency (JAWA, 2006-2010)
  • Friends of Ryerson Board (2002-2016)
  • Illinois Task Force on Plastic Bag Recycling (2008-2010)
  • Lake County Board of Health (2009-present)
  • Clean Water Trust Fund (2002-2003)
  • Waukegan Holy Family Food Pantry Volunteer (1997-2010)
  • Stevenson High School Science Olympiad Coach (2003-present)
  • Along with husband, Lincolnshire Couple of the Year for Community Service (2008)
  • Founder and volunteer, Gardening with Incarcerated Youth Program, Lincolnshire Garden Club (2004-present)
  • Northeast Illinois Boy Scout Council Chairman, Scouting for Food (2009-2015)


  • Lake Forest College, Department of Biology, Senior Lecturer (1993-present)
  • Post-Doctoral research, Department of Dental Research, University of Rochester, Rochester NY (1990-1992)

Lake County Committees


  • Law and Judicial
  • Public Works, Planning and Transportation


  • Ad Hoc Government Reform Implementation Committee
  • Public Works and Transportation, Chair
  • Health and Community Services (2006-2010)
  • Revenue, Records and Legislation (2004-2006)
  • Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs, Vice-Chair (2002-2004)
  • Taxation, Elections and Records (2002-2004)
  • Cultural Diversity

Forest Preserve District Committees


  • Finance
  • Operations


  • Lake County Forest Preserve, President (2010-2018)
  • Diversity and Cultural Awareness
  • Preservation Foundation of the Lake County Forest Preserve District, Voting Member
  • Ethics
  • Legislative, Vice-Chair
  • Land Preservation and Acquisition, Chair (2002-2010)
  • Finance and Administration (2002-2006, 2008-2010)
  • Executive Advisory Committee (2006-2010)


  • PhD Biochemistry, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY
  • M.S. Biochemistry, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY
  • B.A. Biology, Williams College, Williamstown, MA

Personal & Other Information

  • Married, with four sons
  • Resident of Lincolnshire since 1992