Work Permits & Age Certificates

Work Permits

For a minor child (ages 0-15 years of age) to be able to work in Illinois, he or she must be issued a work permit. Work permits are valid for 1 year and for 1 employer.
During the school year, all permits can be issued through the school district where the child resides. Please contact your child's district office for a list of their issuing officers.
Please note: Work permits and certificates are issued between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Please call the office to verify the required documents before you arrive. 


Requirements for work permits for a minor child (0-15 years old):
  • Birth Certificate
  • Social Security Card
  • Letter of intent to hire from the prospective employer
  • Letter signed by the Dr. on the Dr's letter head stating the date a physical was performed stating satisfactory health status to work. This must prove that a physical was performed within 1 year from singed letter.
  • Principal form verifying satisfactory academic status (this form is required during the school year only)
  • Work Permit Application Form (PDF) (this application is also available at our office)
  • Illinois law requires that both the child and the parent be present when applying for the work permit.

Age Certificates

Age Certificates are issued for a minor child (ages 16-20 years of age) for employment purposes if a birth certificate is not official or available.

To verify age, please show one of the following:
  • Baptismal or Bible records
  • Birth Certificate
  • Passport

Further Information

The person applying must have the employer name and address. Parent need not be present at time of application.

If you have any further questions concerning this procedure, please feel free to contact us at 847-665-0603 or 847-665-0609. If you have any questions concerning Illinois Child Labor Laws, please contact the Child Labor Hotline at 800-645-5784.